Troll Hunting

Even if I have a regular subscription to Netflix now, I try not to binge-watch and just pick a few enjoyable episodes/programs to relax after a long work day. The latest series that I finished is not a mainstream trending topic because, well, it’s in the children’s category. When I saw that DreamWorks and Guillermo del Toro had an animated series voiced by the late Anton Yelchin, I knew I had to watch it.

TH book

I didn’t know of the books it was based on, but Trollhunters season one is a TV series for everyone, not just kids. If you need something light-hearted and funny, then have a go at it. The pacing and foundation of the mythology takes a while. There are no limits to streaming channels, anyways. By the end of the 26 episodes, though, you’ll feel like Jim, Toby, Claire, Blinky, and AAARRRGGHH!!! is your new squad. Because of repetition, you’ll also be able to memorize Jim’s lines when he whips out his amulet thingie:

For the glory of Merlin, daylight is mine to command!

TH_103r

For a TV budget, the animation is very impressive. Del Toro was quoted to have been grateful to the team who really stretched the limits of imagination and went the extra mile to create something magical for the small screens. Of course, what brings the animation to life are the voices behind it and the late Anton Yelchin did a brilliant job in articulating the woes of teenage life while training to be a hero. Del Toro assures, however, that Yelchin is not going to “leave” the program despite his death because as it turns out, they have material to last until another season. Yep, they’ve just been renewed for season 2! Woohoo!

For comedic punchlines, I LOOOOVE Toby, voiced by Charlie Saxton. He’s super funny and chubby and cute, but so are Blinky, the wise and formal mentor of Jim and AAARRRGGHH!!!, Toby’s wingman and the group’s muscle guy/troll. The characters are voiced by Kelsey Grammer and Fred Tatasciore, respectively. Claire’s okay. I like the boys better.

Speaking of funny moments, the best laugh out loud moment for me was when Toby adopted a gnome and named it…

Trollhunters-Pop-JimArmored-withGnome_large
GNOME CHOMPSKY

(I want their Funko Pops! AAAAAARGHHHH)

The first season ended on a cliffhanger and will be continued with 13 more episodes in the next installment. I’m now a fan and I’m even considering watching it again just for fun. I am glad I found this gem on Netflix and I can’t wait for next season!

Leave a Reply

